PITCH TO AN AGENT AT KILLER NASHVILLE THIS WEEKEND

I have a pitch session with an agent at Killer Nashville Writer’s Conference this weekend and all of us have to bring the first two pages of a story for the agents to look at. So, taking a poll, which set up of my stories sounds the most interesting to you?


1. Prosecutor in a world where magic woke up recently and she has to ask a god for help with a case.  (This is The Gods Defense, which is posted in serial form on this site.)
2. Alternate reality traveling witches with a political conspiracy brewing and threatening to overtake their possibly already corrupt government.
3. Perky psychic FBI agent trying to solve a murder at a vampire club.
4. Slightly sociopathic were-lion trying to find were-children kidnapped by scientists wanting to study them.

Thoughts?

2 thoughts on “PITCH TO AN AGENT AT KILLER NASHVILLE THIS WEEKEND

  1. I’ve already told you I think #1 screams for a novel. #2 could be interesting if done right, I think, while #4 doesn’t excite me. Please, no more vampires. No amount of perky can make them tolerable to me.
    The reason I think 1,2 are strongest is I think they’re something you could write effectively.
    …and I’m sorry I didn’t reply to your chapter. Still need to think to give a proper crit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually am trying to turn The Gods Defense into a full novel now, with the story I’ve posted just being the first part and after that is them trying to channel magic, rally troops, and the actual stopping of the curse at the alignment part. The agent said novellas are hard to sell and this story and reality have taken on their own lives so it just makes sense to me to make this become the first book in a series instead of having the series and this story just be some sort of prequel type story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

