I WILL WRITE ABOUT YOU

I got the idea for this poem from the Nashville song, The Best Songs Come From Broken Hearts, and a couple of friends going through bad breakups and broken hearts.

I’m Going To Write About You:

I’m going to write about you
Not for revenge or out some sense of need.
Certainly not in the hopes of making you
Beg for forgiveness on your knees.
You aren’t the villain, just the thing in the way.
What’s between the girl and her happy ending.

Yeah, I’m going to write about you
Make you into a thing
This idea I control and toss through rings.

Know this isn’t for the ultimate revenge
While I’ll tell my truth about what happened
You still aren’t the bad guy
You aren’t my villain
You’re a plot device,
an obstacle,
a lesson to be learned in the end.

You were never the one
I just had to think that you were
To have my heart broken
And force me to look for the answers.

I put you down, mold you in a way
So I can finally have the closure
That you always denied me.

No this isn’t revenge
If it were, you would die
In the end of my book
You’re merely the wrong guy

And you get your happy ending
With the gold haired girl and son
While my character is left
To continue searching for the one.

But I am going to tell
All that you did to me.
I will sing my truth for all to see.

Not for right or for wrong
Or any kind of morality.
For peace, for art, for song
I will tell what you did to me.

I suppose I should thank you
All was theoretical before.
So pat yourself on the back.
Feel comfort about how you slammed the door.

I’m going to tell them what you did
And all who know us will know it’s you
And it won’t be out of revenge.

It will be because thanks to you
I finally have the story
I have always wanted to write
I finally have a love
Who never once kissed me and said good night.

So I will write about you
And it will be you to a tee
The man I thought I knew
The man you pretended to be.

I want my readers to be confused
They will shake their heads and ask
How can he be so sweet,
And yet such a cold hearted ass.

You will be the perfect character
You will be true
And you will betray the girl
Because that is what you do.

But this isn’t for revenge.
No, sir, I swear it is not.
This is to understand
Everything I never got.

Because if I can write about you
I can put you in a box.
I can explain away your lies
And live with my lot.

This isn’t revenge,
Despite what people say
About how you shouldn’t upset writers
Because they will write about you one day.

One thought on “I WILL WRITE ABOUT YOU

Leave a Reply

