How To Price Your eBook

I love this because it’s what I want to hear, but what about you, readers? Would you pay $2.99 for a short story?

Mundus Media Ink

how much money should I charge for my bookColumn by David Biddle

At the beginning of December, I reduced the online price of my novel and a story collection. I wanted my books to be part of the holiday sales craze, so I took the ebook versions from $4.99 to 99¢. My royalties at those prices? About 30¢ a sale.

I smiled when I told my wife that I’d done this–a crooked, sad, maniacal smile. She gave me her best “WTF!” expression. And as it’s turned out, I should have paid attention.

It’s way too easy for us indie authors to devalue what we’re selling. Way too easy. If we don’t rack up downloads right away, we go into pricechopper mode, as if our work is the equivalent of a can of stewed tomatoes that hasn’t moved.

What’s the best price for an indie ebook? Shoot, what’s the best price for a book in general? Publishers struggled with…

View original post 1,328 more words

Leave a Reply

